Grey Heron

I was just approaching the loch this morning when the young one landed right in front of me on the grass. I had just started feeding her when she spotted a dog and flew off to the drainage area at the foot of the loch. By the time I had caught up the Canada geese had arrived. They made a bit of a noise but moved on when the Greylags arrived. I thought that would be that and she would be off. However the area she was in was enclosed by fallen branches and there was only a smallish entrance. She took up position there and faced down the geese who would have had to get through one at a time. They were not keen on doing that and moved off. The young one got the rest of her fish. 
If she is ready to mate I am so pleased that she looks in good shape and well nourished. We will need to wait and see what happens! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.