Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

"stuff" #11

Back to my “stuff on a horizontal surface” series.    Someone might remember last June 6 we were burgled!  and a large silver tray and my Mom’s tea set was stolen (while I sat outside next to the house with a friend!)   Well, the tray sat on this red dog by Lynn DiNino and the poor thing has been lying on its back with feet up looking bare since then, so it was time to add some some stuff.   It came originally with a piece of glass table top.  (btw, the insurance company paid…)

Not the same but I had to scrounge the cabinets for some silver…, here on a tray by Josef Frank brought to us from Sweden by some visiting relatives  (also a tablecloth I use all the time with the same BW design of Stockholm, blipworthy in itself),  a small bowl of Mexican silver from when a cousin and I at age 14,  spent the summer there with an Aunt and Uncle who lived in Mexico City., a pitcher I just like the shape of but can’t remember where it's from, a George Jenson silver and glass candlestick I bought in NYC, my 1940 baby cup with my name on it  (does anyone give silver baby cups anymore??)  My Grandfathers  (mother's father) water pitcher with his initials (OSS that’s the Oskar in  the family tree...was that a custom to use the husband initials?? ), and a tea pot with a great shape from H’s family, never used but tucked away in the back of a cabinet. 


extra, the old stuff gone forever, with Fiona, 2012

Book club zoom today with a very lively discussion of The Piano Tuner by Daniel Mason..we are really ready to meet in person…it might just happen soon with vaccinated and boosted ladies.  I've seen most of them individually in the last 2 years but miss the group!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.