J0shua

By J0shua

Walk this way

Like a sick puppy I moaned (well I have been quite ill for last two days) as I went past the Harbour tonight, big boat in town, crisp air, clear skies, opera house lights were on and it was the blue hour.... no into the city I went no harbour blips for April. Quickly found myself in Hyde park and at JF Archibald Memorial Fountain. Widely regarded as the finest public fountain in Australia. It is named after J.F. Archibald, owner and editor of The Bulletin magazine, who bequeathed funds to have it built. Archibald specified that it must be designed by a French artist, both because of his great love of French culture and to commemorate the association of Australia and France in World War I. He imagined its civic design and ornamentation developing to rival his dream city Paris. The artist chosen was François-Léon Sicard. The fountain was unveiled on 14 March 1932 by the Lord Mayor of Sydney, Samuel Walder.

BIG water fountain in the BIG city park

I like this spot I think I'll be back real soon, many cool things to photograph, particularly in mono

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.