XSworld

By XSworld

Upsidedown

I'm reluctant to photograph the signs of spring that are popping up all around me, so today I'll just blip what I think is a hedgeparsley seedhead which is very good at letting the seeds cling to my trousers, and judging by the woolfibers I noticed on some of the plants, they have hired some sheep fulltime to spread the seeds as far as possible! I guess that's how the plant earned the status as weed! I post the photo upside down because that's how I photographed it, and because I find it very much in line with the ways the seasons are behaving!

So back to the far too early signs of spring. TonyL shared an interesting article on ecological mismatch in a comment to yesterday's blip. An article that draws our attention to the fact that beside the problem of too early blossom at risk in case of late frost, there is also the problem of a possibility of loss of synchronisation between migrating or hibernating animals and plants they rely on. Another thing to seriously worry about if we care about the future of the world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.