Gordale

I did a recce of the second day of the Duke of Edinburgh Exped today, from Malham to Threshfield. It was bitter out and the wind was against me much of the way until I dropped off the fell into Skyrethornes. I though I wouldn't have a landscape blip worth uploading but this one is about the best, showing the still very brown fields and touches of remaining snow against the bleak sky. You can see the beginning of my route which followed a single track road past Gordale Scar and up onto the top of the fell in the distance, onto the very pleasantly named Smearbottoms Lane! From there it was across country to Bordley where I spotted these poor lambs trying to find shelter from the icy blasts. My descent was through typical Dales 'woodland'. The few trees there are on the moor have to put up with serious weather!

On my arrival in Threshfield I had an hour to wait for the bus (I had read the timetable correctly today!) so I had a very nice bowl of butternut squash and smoky bacon soup in the Old Hall Inn to pass the time!

You probably need to look at this in large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.