Wild snowdrops in the old trackway's hedgerow

At the Stancombe Beech farm shop I met Keith, one of the three sibling farmers, who knows I'm always keen to see hares. He said he'd seen a hare in one of their fields the day before, lurking amongst the various rows of cabbages which they are growing in that field.

I decided to park at their Dutch Barn from where I could walk around the corner into that field. The weather was mild and sky bright. I walked up past the Brussel sprouts, red and white cabbages, turnips and carrots all of which would be very attractive to hares, and many other beasts of the wild.

I didn't spot any animals roaming which didn't surprise me, but I really enjoyed being out and about again watching and listening to the natural world and being able to access all parts of the farm. I've been filming there for more than ten years.

At the end of the field I crossed the ancient trackway, called Calf Way, that runs past the farm through Bisley village and on to Cirencester. Romans used this spot two thousand years ago as both a residenial settlement and a place of worship according to the relics found nearby.

Walking along the old track I saw these wild snowdrops growing at the base of the hedgerow on what looks to have been an old woodbank. It was a very dark shaded spot. I rather like the way they've grown up through the detritus of the hedge. through it dropped leaves, twigs and branches of nearby trees lining the nearby fields which are all surrounded by rather elderly Cotswold stone walls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.