Chris_P

By Chris_P

‘My New Toy!’

i’ve never been much of a coffee connoisseur, and I’ve always preferred my coffee ‘au lait’ often with vast amounts of ‘lait’ to boot - ‘latte plus’ I think you might call it!! 

Over the last few months, however, I’ve been trying to lose some weight - which had crept up again steadily since I last did this over eight years or so ago. 

I’ve been tracking my calories as well as other metrics such as protein and carbohydrate, with an app called MyFitnessPal.

One of the things I’ve noticed is how many calories there are in the many cups and mugs of milky coffee and tea (even with semi-skimmed milk) ’ I’ve been drinking, so I thought it might be a good idea to cut down. This led me to look more closely options for coffee without milk, such as Expresso and Americano, and focus on taste.

Enter this little contraption!  It’s called the ‘Aeropress’. It was invented in 2004 by a retired Stanford University engineering lecturer and claims to have key features of a an expresso maker, filter drip coffee maker and cafetière, all rolled into one!

Today it had its first outing. It has excellent reviews from people who know a lot more about coffee than I do and I can report that, while it certainly is different and it’s taken me a few goes to get the hang of it, I’m definitely getting there and - more importantly - I’m pleased to report that the results taste very good indeed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.