Marsupium Photography

By magi

for sale

I had intended to stay at home but ended up going to Drummond St. I foolishly left some work in the office that I needed today. The pitfalls of hybrid working: either you have to know exactly where you are going to be or you have to carry around all your stuff. Anyway, as a bonus I ended up going for lunch with a colleague. 

It looks like the bookseller Blackwell's is up for sale. I never quite got over the fact that James Thin (the original Edinburgh bookshop) was taken over by Blackwell's in 2002. James Thin used to have a shop at KB which I regularly visited to buy books. The bookshop along with the nice sandwich shop disappeared from KB. Blackwell's was quite good and I purchased most of my books there, especially when I figured out that I could order them online and pick them up when I worked in town. Rumour has it that Waterstones is interested. It would be absolutely tragic if Edinburgh lost its academic bookshop and gained another bland Waterstone that nobody really needs. Where do students get their books? Maybe I am just too old fashioned and should embrace the notion of places being interchangeable and indistinguishable. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.