Birds of a Feather

I had heard good things about the hide at Hilliers Garden Centre, mainly via Blipfoto.   We used to frequent the cafe there many years ago but haven't been there for quite a while, the coffee wasn't up to Ann's standard.  Anyway as we set off this afternoon to look for a caffeine fix I suggested Hilliers and Ann, who was driving, agreed.

The place has obviously expanded over the years and there are plenty of outside eating/drinking areas which would be pleasant in warmer weather.  Still we braved the great outdoors and I had a not too bad cup of coffee, Ann stuck to green tea.

After our drink we went in search of the bird hide at the back of the cafe's gardens.   It wasn't too large, but it was empty, and we spent the next thirty minutes enthralled by the number of birds constantly visiting the area by the hide.

I only had my small camera with me but I was spoilt for choice of photo ops, a lot discarded on examination back home. I like this one as there are three types of bird in the shot,  and I've added a woodpecker to the extras.  

We shall certainly go again, maybe when it's a little warmer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.