flowerdancer

By flowerdancer

Ooops, Paddington!

One of the aspects of the COVID pandemic I found most challenging was the stifling of spontaneity, I realised today with some shock that I have not travelled the 45 miles to Carlisle since some considerable time before the first lockdown in March 2020. Today, it was lovely to take a spur-of-the-moment trip to Tullie House Museum and Gallery in the City to see “Paddington: The Story of a Bear”, a touring exhibition set up
by the British Library. It brought back wonderful childhood memories of one of the first books I bought myself in the early 1960’s - the exhibition was full of interactive elements and original materials from the books and the message behind the writing of kindness and manners really struck me as an Adult. As a child, I think I liked the fact that Paddington, like me, was clumsy!
No photography was allowed apart from at this point where you were encouraged to “strike a pose” - I needed no encouragement!
Near the car park, we found a lovely kiosk run by a Greek man where we enjoyed a coffee and a lovely talk about his home Island of Corfu and his life here for the last two years through the Pandemic.
A starlit walk with a tiny crescent moon in the first clear sky for a week with Moss when I got home finished a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.