today's another day

By dbrereton

Pub Portrait - Mr Roy

In an occasional series I bring you some of the characters who I regularly can be found with on a Friday evening.

This week its Rod, or to give him.his birthname, Roderick. I mention his real name as it is never used.

He goes by

Rod
Roy
Mr Roy
Rodney

Retired Primary School teacher, and latterly a County Court 'official' Rod is another from a church youth group who met and have stuck together. The oldest of our bunch, and the oldest old uns....the young uns, me included some 15 years lagging behind. I've learned a lot from Rod.

I think I was 15 when I remember seeing him and some of the others in a covers band. 5 or 6 years later, I was in the band. A keyboard player with no keyboard, so I played acoustic guitar. Another one.

Fast forward today, that band is still going, there are plenty of blips here of that. The personnel has changed but Rod and I have had a shared interest in music, listening to bands and being in one. He's actually a very good guitarist, a little underrated as he's not a lead.

How Long....is a song we often open with
...but also I wonder now how many more years we can still enjoy learning songs, and doing the odd gig.

He's a great friend, but also has somehow missed a career in comedy as when on song, he is often creating and leading the laughter.

So why Roy?

Simple, at an event someone who'd known him well for 25 years, addressed him as Roy...in front of everyone else. From then on in he had a new handle, the die was cast.



Others....


https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2918794515215028219 - The Lengthsman

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2920839404505269595 - Fidbo

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2926423731871941211 - Foil

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.