No one is looking at this

By Limey

Vintage sweepstakes ad & a wee rant.

I don't know much about the Ballsbridge Sweepstakes, but I'm sure that ad would get a good price on eBay! There is a really good trade in selling fake vintage Irish ads for pubs. 

I was in Brno, Czechia a couple of years ago, having dinner, and I noticed a "Killiney Bay Whiskey" ad on the wall. I was like, huh? Never heard of it.

Now, I live in Killiney and I WOULD KNOW IF THERE WAS A DISTILLERY :-)))) .  I'm literally 10 mins walk from Killiney Bay. There's just a beach, a train station, a coffee wagon, and a sewage plant towards the Bray end of the bay. 

But you can buy the metal vintage ads for Killiney Bay Whiskey and see them in random European bars. So take it from me, a lot of the Irish pub metal ads are mass-produced and make to look sort-of-vintage and Oirish. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.