Carpet of Snowdrops

After quite a rough night again, and feeling very tearful, I made the effort and got out today by bus, train and bus to the Oxford Botanical Gardens :)

I can't make my mind up whether to blip the lovely carpet of snowdrops or the smaller group in :

extra 1 - snowdrops
extra 2 - crocuses (or irises?)
extra 3 - acconite - I think
extra 4 - robin
extra 5 - blackbird

(the only drawback was a horrid train journey - due to before 10am - a load of drunk young men, carrying alcohol and already full of it , verbal and noisy and rude :(  Several of us complained to the train manager - and all that was said was 'oh its match day'!)  Why should that ruin other people's days.  I was so glad to get off that train :()

Anyway, I knew roughly where I was going, but asked a friendly bus driver, and he was going that way - and let me know when to get off (that made up for the unpleasantness of the train journey) :)

I spent a good couple of hours wandering around and over 150 photos were taken, but I love that the robin followed me around, and there was a pair of blackbirds too) :)  

But it did make me think of Mum as she, like me loved gardens, flowers and birds... I did get a bit tearful and melancholy.

After the gardens, I walked back up the high street to Pizza Express.  Its a very long time since going to a restaurant by myself (and I felt so lonely in among all the families there - it doesn't normally bother me, as I take my kindle and read)....

Then I walked back to the station, and had a lovely quiet journey back to Reading.  Home now, feeling tired, sore and have really bad toothache again, but glad that I've made it out!

And RELAX!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.