‘Motherless’, about 1889

This sculpture has always been a favourite at Kelvingrove Art Galleries. The girl’s mother has died in childbirth or during a Victorian epidemic, leaving her father to look after her.

I love it and make sure that I see it on every visit I make to the galleries.  I haven’t been for a couple of years (obvious reasons) and as today’s weather has been appalling it was a good place to go.  It was really quite busy so I guess others had the same idea.

I love a stained glass window so have included the large one on display in the galleries. It’s by the Irish Arts and Crafts designer Harry Clarke.

The other half of the extra is one of my favourite corridors in Kelvingrove …….it always reminds me of the film ‘Sunshine on Leith’ which was set in Edinburgh but Kelvingrove was used for the museum scene.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.