Shutterbug

By studiob

College of One

About two years ago I decided to design my own "College of One"
based on F. Scott Fitzgerald's book of the same name. He designed "college courses" for his girlfriend, Sheila Graham. Books to read, music to listen to, art to study . . .

My college of one consisted of the following:

I became a docent at the Oklahoma City Museum of Art, took a 12-week Master Gardener's course and then manned the phones to answer gardening questions, took a dark room class, took decorating classes, cooking classes and a cake decorating class and took a 9-month Education for Ministry class with the Episcopal church. I wanted to expand my mind, my world, and the people I came into contact with.

This rhododendron is a tribute to my "College of One" and the world that opened up to me by getting out of my world and the people I had known for years and to experience a whole new world, new people and new experiences.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.