Sense? Or Sensibility?

On This Day In History
1998: Mary Kay Letourneau goes back to prison

Quote Of The Day
Vili Fualaau: I thought that (first) kiss was only gonna last for like a couple seconds. But it ended up lasting like thirty minutes. Could've lasted longer, but I had to go home. So then I got in trouble when I got home. It was like 11:30 at night?
Mary Fualaau: Mmmmm.
Vili Fualaau: Way past my curfew.
(Transcript from court trial)

Sometimes we should listen to our hearts, sometimes we should listen to our brains. Whichever organ's counsel is the wisest varies from case to case. In this situation, these two definitely should have chosen to follow the counsel of their brains rather than their hearts ...... or whatever organ it was that Vili was listening to.

I Want To Be A Machine

Update:
To get some more background on this story, I watched  this 2018 interview with the Fualaau's. It is very insightful. Vili Fualaau, who I still regard as no innocent victim since he said he was not a virgin even before he had sex with Mary Kay at the age of twelve, becomes more sympathetic to me when he is seen alongside Mary Kay. She, on the other hand, shows herself to be an extremely manipulative woman, fluttering her eyelids and playing the "I'm just a sweet little girl in love" card - even in her 50's! There is a telling moment in the interview when she repeatedly asks Vili, "Who was the boss?" Well, there's no doubt in my mind now.

Kudos to the interviewer, Mary Kay's attorney and her ex-husband, Steven Letourneau; they aquit themselves extremely well in this report. And my sympathy, too, to Vili. Even though he did wrong initially, he did the honourable thing later by becoming a good father and standing by the mother of his children despite, as it seems to me in the interview, being extremely embarrassed by her. She, on the other hand, still tries to play the victim and blame the crime on him. She's repugnant, and a disgrace to the teaching profession..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.