BOYS WRESTLING GIRLS?

I spent the day at a wrestling tournament....I love wrestling having done it myself in high school and at the university.  I have coached wrestling...in fact I started the program at the high school where I taught for 46 years.
~
One issue I never had to deal with was girls on the team. Initially, there was some real concern about girls ability to compete with boys physically. Concern about physical touching as well.
~
Then Along Came Title 9 (I think it was Title 9) that gave girls the ability to compete in Interscholastic athletic events where before they could only be cheerleaders.
~
It wasn't FAIR!...they said and I think they were right. Thus, girls sports programs were born and they have been getting better and better for many years. If boys played basketball, so could the girls and the same held true all sports and many new girls teams were born and then competition for gym space and time became an issue. The rub came in where there was no alternative sport for females so to "make things fair" they were allowed to compete with the boys if a girl's sport was unavailable to them.
~
Wisconsin has had it's first Girl's State Wrestling Tournament this year. Only females allowed to participate. ALL these wrestlers compete on boy's teams and many of them are doing very well and kicking some boy's kuesters along the way. Some have even wrestled in the boys state tournament and have done very well.
~
Given all that...girls wrestling with boys still bothers me. But if they want to do it, so be it. Maybe I'm just old and set in my ways. Ma always told be never to fight with girls. I think ma was right.
~
That's why I posted this pic on Silly Saturday.  BTW....the girl wrestling here lost this match. The next match she pinned her competition.
~
Best in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.