Windmill 'De Blauwe Molen', Rijpwetering

'Blauwe' = 'BLAH-wuh' = blue (adjective form)
'Rijpwetering' = 'RIPE-waytuhring' = a polder-rich area, not an exotic fruit
'Wetering' actually has something to do with 'water', which should not be a surprise as there's more than enough water in a polder area.

This is the windmill one can spot along the A4 on the left going to AMS, on the right going south.  I had to google the route going there, though, as it is anything but straightforward.  Took the right exit and after two roundabouts turned right, and then right again, and then was confused as I found myself at a dead end, with the windmill much further away.  It turned out that part of the route is actually a foot bridge.  Parked the car along the road, crossed the canal, and proceeded on foot.  The sun was still out at this point.  After about half a kilometer, turned left, walked till the end of the road, and met another dead end in the form of a farm, with a very alert rottweiler on steroids, so no thank you.  Turned back and decided to reach the mill by walking on the Achterwetering itself, a rather narrow dike between two canals.  The dog was on the other side of the canal, still following me and barking.  The barking continued for a very long time, even as I passed by a gate, which I could have climbed but decided not to.  Had I done that, I would have been in a much better position to take a frontal shot.  As it was, I simply continued, picking my way between horse poop, duck poop, and other unidentifiable poop, and clumps of grass.

Finally, I was really close to the mill, but still wanted a frontal shot.  There was this bridge which was tilted, the handrail almost falling apart, part of the 'flooring' at an angle which could have been dangerous if it had been freezing.  Clasped my bag tightly, gripped the wobbly handrail, and crossed the canal, but, of course, the gate at the other end was locked.  Never mind, took what shots I could, then crossed back, with more confidence this time.  I decided not to go back the way I came, hoping for less poop in the other direction.  That was indeed the case, so I just went on, still looking for another chance to cross the canal.  At the end of the dike, I saw the road leading to the mill, but marked 'private road', so I left it at that.

Two extras!  I walked at least two kilometers in total, so not bad.

The windmill is a residence, and it is a very pretty one, too.  The road leading to it is private almost up to the 'main road', which isn't actually a road but a wide bicycle path, which is why it wasn't marked on google maps.  This is why it can be misleading, because when I turned right on it for the walk back, some cars drove on it.  By that time, though, heavy grey clouds were back in place and a cold, icy wind was blowing.  Not to miss an opportunity, I nevertheless stopped to take more shots of the windmill from where I was.  It is actually a lovely area.

Before going on the hunt, woke up in time to watch Irene Schouten bag the first gold for the country.  I look forward to many more but am fairly realistic about some of our speed skaters.  Some will shine and some will not.  More skating tomorrow!

On the way home, passed by the dump in Rotterdam, and then drove to the A29 and went to Numansdorp to knock on Micky's door and wish her a happy birthday.  We'd chatted the evening before on the phone, and she wasn't celebrating, and she has so many food allergies I didn't dare bring her any chocolates or fruit, and she's sensitive to flowers, too, so I figured that the best present would be my showing up.  I ended up spending a bit more than an hour, and we chatted and had tea before I headed homeward.  AW had already had dinner and I just warmed my own in the microwave.

Altogether a rather full day.  Thankful for the excuses not to sit in front of my laptop.  Also thankful for a whole week without panic attacks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.