Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Changeable ...

That was quite a day, no? To think I've been complaining about the unseasonably mild weather, and here I was waking in the night some time, aching all over and realising it was because I was cold, and all tensed up in bed trying not to be! My bedroom temperature reflects my past, I think - I've never liked sleeping in a warm room, so when we put in central heating we just left our bedroom out of it. And knowing when we put in the heating, which must be about ten years or so ago, and certainly since we retired, shows that for most of my life we lived in one warm room at a time and didn't ever expect to be warm in the hall. I still find myself looking round a hotel room to check on how to make it cooler, and whether or not the window opens - but there you are. It has its drawbacks, being so cool. (Joke)


For the whole day we've had this rapidly marching sky, bringing stygian gloom and snow or sleet in a quick procession along with deceitfully bright sun and blue sky for just long enough to make you wonder if it was safe to go out and then realise it wasn't. However, Himself noticed that the weather app forecast said it'd be full sun at 5pm all around us - just not in Dunoon itself - and so it came to pass. The sun had in fact just set when we drove out of town down the shore to Cluniter and parked off-road to walk on to the far end of Innellan. This photo was taken as we turned to go back to the car. You can see that the sun has already set just off to the right, and that the last shower to bother us is now on its way to Stranraer or some such; you can see by the puddles that this clear sky hasn't been around for long. What you can't see from this photo is the tiny moon, sailing just to the left of the trees. It was bitterly cold and rather beautiful.

My pal and I had a chat after church this morning about the next thing after the  mandatory installation of these linked smoke alarms: the insulation of Victorian properties. We both live in such houses, and making them uniformly efficient is a full-time job. We desisted, by mutual consent ...

Tonight, rather than wheeching the duvet round a quarter-turn to land a thicker bit over me on this perishing night, I shall take my vulgar furry dressing gown and lay it over me like a blanket. Vulgar? Moi??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.