OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

From the beach at Ossin

When I looked out the window this morning, the shirts that I hung out to dry yesterday were whiter-than-white, because it had snowed in the night. It soon melted though and I was off to the island of Egilsay. It was sometimes warm, sometimes very cold as I walked around the island. I kept to the road until near the Head of Vady, then along the shore to The Graan. Around the point and north. The tide was dropping and the hard flat sand easy to walk on. I hoped to see my first great skua of the spring but no luck. I sat and had coffee while watching some grey seals hauled out on the rocks- they relaxed, yawning and having a bit of a scratch. Around the Point of Crook I looked out for the big llama but there was no sign of it. I took some pictures at a ruinous farm called Sound, then on to the jetty for the ferry. More shots here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.