Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

Plant Sitting - Day 1

When I came home from work my mother's car was parked in front of my house. Dagur, my son, was running up the front steps with a lovely plant in his hand.
I was very curious and hurried to ask my mother what this was all about?
She told me she was going to Reykjavík for a few days and would I be so kind to look after her delicate flowering plant while she was away? I had no time to think and just answered: No problem!

So now we're stuck with this plant we have no idea how to entertain or take care of! My husband suggested we take it to the Botanical Garden after dinner - always a good idea when entertaining guests in Akureyri and surely the plant would feel at home? - so that's what we did. For safety I put a leash on it before going in. One is supposed to do that with things you're sitting, right? ...like dogs, little children...?

Turns out the other flowers were still "sleeping" under snow and the café is closed. Bummer!

Now we have to think of something fun to do tomorrow :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.