flowerdancer

By flowerdancer

Garam Masala

Time to replenish my jar of Garam Masala again. For years I have made my own to a recipe I cut out of a newspaper many years ago and keep taped to the jar so
It is always to hand when I need to make more. I wish I could bottle the aroma when I am toasting the spices before grinding!
For those interested, here is the recipe. I really recommend trying it - very aromatic rather than hot as the recipe says.

2 long sticks of cinnamon, broken
3 dried bayleaves, crumbled
2tbsps cardamom pods or 1/2 oz seeds
I tsp while cloves
1/2 oz blades of mace
1 tbsp black peppercorns
2tsp cumin seeds
2tbsp coriander seeds

Dry roast all spices in a heavy skillet for 10
mins or until darkened and very aromatic, stirring often. Allow to cool completely then grind in a coffee grinder and store tightly sealed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.