Winter Olympics 1992

30 years ago, I was lucky enough to be a guest of the 3M Company at the 1992 Albertville Winter Olympics.

I was installed in a magnificent hotel suite, with two bathrooms, and an incredible plate glass window view of the snow clad mountains

It later transpired that a senior manager of 3M had cancelled his trip and I was the next on the list to be invited so I got his hotel room!

Pin badge collecting is still a very popular pastime at the Olympics and while I did not rush around collecting them, these came my way somehow.

I went to various events and had a lesson in snow skiing.

At that time, 3M sold photographic film under the name Scotch and bowls of film were placed throughout the hotel for the guests.


Labatt Brewing Company Limited (French : La Brasserie Labatt Limitée) is a Belgian-owned brewery headquartered in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Founded in 1847, Labatt is the largest brewer in Canada

The 3M Company (originally Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing Company) is an American multinationalconglomerate corporation operating in the fields of industry, worker safety, US health care, and consumer goods

The Eastman Kodak Company (referred to simply as Kodak) is an American public company that produces various products related to its historic basis in analogue photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.