Mid Wales and Beyond

By Morphthecat

St Michael and All Angels Church

Back in the 90's my friend, Peter, who was vicar of this Loppington  church asked me to call round and have a look at the church. There had been a terrible storm overnight and a tree had been upended on the edge of the graveyard. Resting against the bare roots was a poor soul with his bones scattered about. He was later reburied nearby. Much earlier in 1643 during the civil war Parliamentarian forces had entered the church and stabled their horses overnight in the nave. Peter showed me the hoof marks on the wall and some of the soft sandstones  showed marks where the soldiers had sharpened their sword. The Royalists soon took back the church, but sadly I was unable to find the marks that the vicar had previously shown me 33 years earlier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.