XSworld

By XSworld

Draught

It hasn't rained for over a month! There is no snow in the mountains either, so the warm weather lately hasn't brought melted snow to the rivers. "My" river is merely a small stream by now, the water level is reduced by over 75% of it's normal amount and unless it starts raining soon we are going to have a huge problem when spring arrives and agriculture is going to need water. This afternoon I wanted to document the situation with a blip. I took a lot of photos, but couldn't decide on the subject until I started photographing the reflection of the churchtower in what once was a running river but is now just a still pond. I was appalled to see the quantity of mosquitos hovering over the water, mating and laying eggs (close up of 4 individuals captured with my 200mm lens in the extra).I deliberately left the tower out of focus to draw attention to the problem.
It looks as if we might have a horrible mosquito summer ahead of us in my town!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.