DavidSmithArt

By DavidSmithArt

Toad in the hole (in the compost bin)

In these first Blips I want to show a bit about my interests. This toad illustrates my love of nature, and the setting my belief in the importance of organic gardening. I have always tried to be an organic gardener, right from my fist allotment when I was at art school 50 years ago. I now grow using the No Dig system, so making good quality compost is even more important! Toad enjoys it too.We are making quite a lot of changes in the top part of our garden where we keep our bees. We planted 14 apple trees and three pears a couple of years ago and I have just made some new No Dig beds for fruit and vegetables. The rest of that area will be for wildlife. Today I planted a native tree, a rowan, that will be attractive to pollinators, caterpillars and birds. It's in a bed surrounded by rocks to provide spaces for beetles and I have created some spaces I hope will be attractive to bumblebees. Next will be the wildlife pond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.