Old Station

Had a great day in York today, not too busy and lovely weather.
This was taken from the city walls and shows the site of the old railway station. I thought that the remains were of the original fabric but after researching it a bit I now think that only the ironwork columns and the segment of wall are original, I may be wrong. The station was opened in 1841 with trains accessing it through two arches cut out of the Medieval wall. As the station was a dead end, through trains had to reverse out in order to continue north or south.
The current station, on the outside of the city walls, was opened in 1877 to make for a more sensible travel arrangement. The old station stayed in use as a goods/storage depot only finally closing in 1966.
York also has a really good independent camera shop and just happened to have a really good second hand f1.4 50mm prime lens for my Pentax. Reader, I bought it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.