Man Made Cormorants

This morning’s pre-op assessment at Liverpool Women’s Hospital provides an excuse to travel a bit further afield for a short break, so here we are, nestled between the Forest of Bowland, the Yorkshire Dales and the Lakes. No shortage of things to do or see - but we do have the problem of limited time and non-existent planning! The important thing is a change of scene - with not too much exertion. 

This afternoon we only manage a trip to Morecambe, timed - optimistically - for sunset. In reality, the sun sinks behind thick cloud before developing any significant colour, but the blues above are beautifully etched with cirrus streaks and contrails. 

It’s absolutely bitter in the windchill and I’ve left my gloves and camera in the car. Still, there’s much on offer so I brave the cold and gather iPhone shots. There’s the Bay itself of course, and whilst I love the art-deco style of The Midland hotel, my shots from the rear present it as a rather sorry specimen. I love the cormorants that grace the pier. Made from slices of steel and perching life-like on the rocks, they’re part of the Tern Art Project.

Driving back to our hotel, I suddenly spot the Venus and Cupid statue blipped by John Gravett yesterday. G screeches to a halt - well finds a place to park - and I wander over.  I really like this piece - a celebration of motherhood, unconditional love, loss and heartbreak, linked to the tragedy of the 24 cocklers who died in the Bay in 2004, a year before the sculpture by Shane Johnstone was installed. And I’m delighted to discover that the ancient Japanese method of “Kintsugi” was employed in a recent renovation during which the tiny mosaic tiles lost through frost damage were skilfully replaced with gold leaf.


So today’s main presents some  man made cormorants in Morecambe Bay, with extras of the Midland Hotel, Venus and Child and The Bay itself. 


Thanks to Bobsblips for hosting! 


Having caught up with journals yesterday, I suspect I’m going to be behind again …. Such is life …. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.