Shadows Reflected--Manhattan

We arrived at JFK late last night, and took a taxi to our friend Daralee's. I took this shot at around 11 am this morning, heading east on West 12th Street from her building, to get our rental car for Northampton.

I was under the awning to a building (hence the black border at the top), with a convex mirror reflecting the shadows at the upper right. Most buildings in Manhattan have these mirrors, but I'm not sure what they are supposed to show.

I have loved the shadows of trees for at least four decades, since buying a postcard of an image of shadows a bit like this in Central Park in NYC by Lee Friedlander. I can't look for a link since it's about midnight. I've just finished watching the final game of the NCAA basketball tournament--a great game, I had no favorite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.