Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

The world's best cherry tomatoes

Recently I have been visiting the greengrocer on Holland Park Avenue for my fresh veg. The shop itself is a very tiny space, so due to high demand and covid you rarely get to go inside. I have been handing over a shopping list and one of the 6 or so grocers will fill up my bag with carefully selected items.

Last week however the queue was short enough for me to actually go in.

Without tasting I could tell there was something different about these cherry tomatoes. The colour had an extra depth.

The taste didn't disappoint!

After the initial burst of sweetness, savoury vegetable umami followed in bucketloads, lingering on the palate for ages.

I went back yesterday to buy some more, finding they had been given a special place in the shop, well away from the other tomatoes. I raved about them to the grocers and they all laughed. "They are pretty special aren't they."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.