Reluctant Houseguest

Here is Bear, our Granddaughter's puppy; he is missing the attention of having five university student roommates, but he seems rather content to be with us; he won't get his brisk 2 mile walks, but a slow walk around the neighborhood and all that running around chasing the squirrels up the trees will keep him in shape. 

I took our son for his treatment today; he struggled with the tough talk with his oncologist yesterday. He was reminded to get his affairs in order. 

As we drove by the garbage on the freeway, I said I wondered about the future for the young children and grandchildren ...he got quiet...I realized that he was thinking about not being there to see his grandchildren...they wouldn't get to know him. He finally expressed that sadness, and we talked about that and other things he was feeling sad about...it was sad but still a good conversation. I am grateful for this special time with our grown son, but my tears flow freely as I write about that sadness.

Make time for conversations with those you love; we never know how much more time we will have together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.