digitaldave

By DigitalDave

Grove House Stables

I have walked past this unusual building on numerous occasions and wondered about its significance, so I thought I would blip it.
I wandered through the arch where a plaque on the wall says the following:
This model stable block was built in 1890 by Samson Fox internationally known as an inventor and engineer, who lived at Grove House adjoining.
Dwellings either side of the arch were for butler and coachman with their families. Grooms lived overlooking the yard.
The clock tower is still topped by Fox's insignia, the running fox. Originally it housed a carillon of bells.


Mystery solved!
I did try to take the shot looking directly though the arch, but there is a lamp post in the way and I needed to step back to get it all in shot. It's a shame there are so many wheelie bins in sight, but that's all too common these days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.