Every Day, All Year

By Octopussibly

A House Full of Literary History

I felt like I needed to set my head right today, so decided to do something I’ve been meaning to do for a long time. I went to visit the Brontë Parsonage Museum, which is really not that far away, and despite having previously worked in a neighbouring village for a couple of years in my training, today was my first visit.

In this room, Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre and The Tennant of Wildfell Hall were all written. The dress is one actually owned and worn by Charlotte Brontë, and Emily Brontë is thought to have died on the sofa to the right of the picture.

The museum was incredibly well preserved and restored, even down to sketches that the Brontë children drew on the walls of one of the rooms. One of the more surprising exhibits were some necklaces and a bracelet made out of Emily Brontë’s chestnut brown hair, and another made of Anne Brontë’s ash blonde locks (sounds a bit odd, but I think human hair jewellery was maybe a thing in the 19th Century?!).

Anyway, it sorted my head out to wander round the house and immerse myself in Brontëness. Well recommended for any fans of the sisters’ work. The bonus was the beautiful and picturesque drive home across the famous wild and windy moors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.