horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Training

I'd be training anyway, but I'm right in the middle of a charity cycling thing we're organising with work, which is going to have teams of 5 trying to complete an aggregate of 500 miles in the saddle in the space of a week in March. Of course as part of that I suggested trying to get at least one team of 5 to knock it off in a day....

I've done a few 100 mile efforts, but it has been a few years. Plotting a route with a number of shortcut options, and even possible train bail points back to Edinburgh, and possibly even routing it past the end of our drive in the hope we can factor that in as one of the main food stops.

While training on the turbo I have to watch stuff - I get completely bored just staring at the numbers. Often it's mindless, short comedy (recently The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt; How I Met Your Mother (jeez that was terrible, but I was still annoyed when Netflix ran out of its licence a series and a bit from me completing the whole thing)), but often more serious stuff (got hooked on Friday Night Lights amongst many things), and also things like Cheer or this, Last Chance U (which I can't believe I haven't watched till now). Those are psychological choices. When you see kids doing whatever they can to succeed in sport, and in the case of Last Chance U sometimes sleeping in their car while they hold down two jobs and sometimes go without food for the night because they can't afford it, just to be able to play football, and get at least the chance of a bit more education.... Man, I can't complain about an hour and a bit testing my legs with the warm house, and a cold beer, just. Over. There...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.