Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

All alone!

I have a team who are involved in co-ordinating a programme of training caregivers and management committees for our Early Childhood Centres. Today there was a problem at one of the management committee trainings and I was called to go and sort it out!!

As I arrived at the venue this little boy was just sitting all alone in the mud looking sad. There were no other adults or children around and he was just sitting in his own wee world!

I am not sure if this little lad is an orphan or not but we have a very high percentage of orphans in this country mainly due to the HIV/AIDS pandemic which has wiped out almost a whole generation. Malawian culture is very much community based and orphanages are frowned upon so orphans are generally incorporated into the wider family circle. This means someone with three children of their own can be caring for as many as 10 other dependents because their sisters/brothers have passed away! Its a challenge not only for the families but for the communities too!

This little boy did not want to smile or even talk but he did wave bye to me when I left!

Thank you for all your kind messages on my tailor and the spider blips! Makes it all worthwhile :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.