Fighting

It was a day of book launch stuff, creating a flyer amongst other things. It felt like I was fighting against software and badly designed interfaces all day long. Nothing is ever as simple as I feel it should be. I don't think it's just me. E was having problems too, weird things that I couldn't make any sense of either. I got a call from Roam to say that he couldn't download the sound files from his fancy new recording setup. They were only available through an app, which kept crashing on his laptop. It does feel like we're going backwards. The more complex systems become, the harder they are to use and the more there is to go wrong.


I'm catching up with posting at the moment, having not been able to read any memory cards for a few days, nor having been able to read directly from the camera via the USB port. I have reasons to suspect, again, that this is a software rather than a hardware issue. My ancient little laptop struggles more and more with every Windows update, insisting that I upgrade for no good reason. I've got a dedicated USB card reader now and all is working fine, although I wonder for how long. Last year I wouldn't have bothered to catch up on Blip, but I'm trying to make more effort this time around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.