Trejos Devynerios*

While drinking my first coffee this morning I realised I felt as if I was getting a wee cold. 

It has been a long time since I had that feeling, but still. The first thing I did after leaving the house for work was stop at one of the Covid community testing sites to pick up some test kits. 

The result was negative. 

I was due to be going to visit friends for dinner and to watch the rugby on their TV (poor fools still pay BBC tax.) That was postponed for obvious reasons. 

In other news, work was work, in the Office alone. 

This evening I decided some medication might help me, so I dug out some Lithuanian cough mixture mouthwash windscreen washer liquid traditional liqueur. 

The locals claim it is an infusion of 26 herbs (the 27th flavour comes from the hornbeam kegs used to store it), and is used not just as a liqueur but as a universal medicine for colds and joint pains and healing wounds.

We shall see. 

On a more serious note, my heart goes out to my Lithuanian friends at the moment. One thing we always joked about was our respective countries' problems with larger, unpleasant neighbours. 


* "Three Nines" in English.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.