barbarathomson

By barbarathomson

Running Today

Some becks are so small that for most of the time they don't exist.They just show as an eroded depression in the ground. This one doesn't even have a name but after a day of wind and rain it's doing a pretty good job of convincing everyone it should be upgraded. Like a double shot latte it's foaming through the wooded banks to throw itself into the Derwent River on the other side of the path.
I like its determination to make the most of its fleeting energy after weeks of being just a limp trickle.
It's definitely a sign of celebration for me as for the past year I've been a limping trickle myself, suffering from plantar fasciitis . Today is the first time I've been able to run the circuit over the bridge to Camerton and back without hobbling or wincing. Like the beck I like downhill running best and have so missed the joy of letting gravity take over.
With luck and the will-power to continue doing the tendon and muscle stretches daily I'll avoid becoming a dry ditch of a person and keep running in full flow indefinitely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.