The dragon has hatched and pandemonium has ensued

Apparently the easiest way for me to clean my house is to throw away everything we own so we worked on that today. 

Everything else has been animal related.

The dragon hatched and there has been significant scurrying and scittering about.

The crows came and it really sounds as though the one is trying to talk. The Language of Crows says, "Typically, a young crow, often when alone, will string together long chains of sounds of quite varying character, sometimes lasting for several minutes or longer....The function of these vocalizations is poorly understood and they have sometimes been characterized as song or conversation... My own opinion is that these vocalizations are analogous to human baby talk, semi-random sounds that are the precursors to sophisticated verbal communication. Some of the sounds, such as rattling clicks, coos, and coo-ahs, are commonly used by adult birds, while others are seldom used by older birds. Human listeners often mistake juvenile rambling for sophisticated conversation, since they often have a general sound range and cadence similar to human speech."  I'm sure humans are wired to hear sounds like these as language. I talk back. 

A heron hung out relatively close by to the trail allowing me to take pictures and marathon trainers to stop and look. 

Then we ran into some folks we know, walking their dog. Their dog, unlike Sam, goes off on deer, barking like he can do something, so they all gathered together to stare at us. The people asked if I'd be comfortable having dinner with them now that numbers are down and I said yes, if the windows were open. 

Maryland is doing very well relative to other states. We have the fewest reported cases per 100,000. Numbers are still pretty high relative to other times during the pandemic. I've waited five weeks to get my hair cut and I have an appointment tomorrow. I don't want to remember/relearn how to cut my hair, it was very stressful. 

One of my vaccinated, boosted, young co-workers had Covid this week, all week. She kept working anyway because she was bored. I'm in a funny position at this job because I'm management but have no direct reports but once I found out she was sick I was as clear as could be that she shouldn't be working and then refused to hold meetings with her because she should be on sick leave. My boss, to whom she does directly report, held the same position. 

Last night I read a news report that said that the effectiveness of the booster begins to wane after two months and is significantly less effective after four. https://www.washingtonpost.com/health/2022/02/11/covid-boosters-omicron-protection/  I look forward to another booster. 

I'm planning to go in tomorrow with my super mask taped to my face. 

Aurora borealis activity in Iceland has been insane since October. Solar activity has, starting last year, been ramping up out of a four year trough and should continue for a few years. "Statistically, the equinox months of September and March are best for aurora activity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.