Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Fishy

Yesterday I made a comment on the side about a deposit fiasco. That is because I have been told that a sum of money is to be deducted from the deposit I paid for the flat in Chatham before the remainder is returned to me. I was rather angered by that given the steps I took to save my landlord from being charged to remove the pigeons in the loft which had in fact been the responsibility of his freeholder.

Furthermore, the Deposit Protection Scheme has instructed me to log into my account with them to sort this out, but my account with them is as the landlord of the flat I own and not as the tenant of the flat in Chatham. This is because the DPS does not have a facility for a client to be both a landlord and a tenant unless they have a separate email address for each role. I thought I had got around that by adding some dots into my email account which means that they can write to me using separate email addresses but I cannot access my tenant account.
Seems to be yet another example of inadequate software dictating how a person should live or work.

Today I received a call from my former landlord. He was asking me for some help because he wants to upgrade the windows in the flat I just moved out of. It is problematic because it's an historic building and he owns only one of seventeen flats. I suggested he speak with English Heritage but beyond that I couldn't really be of any help. English Heritage would take rather a dim view if an historic building had seventeen mis-matched window upgrades, so it must be either all of them or none of them, and if it were to be all of them it would require assistance from the evil freeholder.

And then I added the fact that I was disappointed he had chosen to make deductions from my deposit. He was horrified! He'd never suggested such a thing and neither had he even heard about it. Therefore it must be the letting agent taking it upon themselves and not keeping him notified. He said he would call them first thing in the morning to demand that they return my full deposit.

Good! I am so sick and tired of having to fight all the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.