River Derwent on a Wet Sunday in the Lakes

We'd entered an orienteering event today. It was absolutely pouring with rain but go orienteering we did . It was an inter club competition with lots of rivalry between my Club,  Lakeland and our neighbours West Cumberland. Not that my score was going to help the Club but you have to show willing.  It was very very wet and I foolishly forgot my waterproof camera. 
This shot was taken from the car driving back up the east side of Derwent Water where a footpath goes from the road to a footbridge.   I saw a walker wading through the water. If you click the location icon you can see the path going towards the River Derwent  Foot Bridge.  That's the low grassy line going across the photo.  The River Derwent has burst its banks and the footpath was  now under knee high water. Disappointingly I think my lone  intrepid wading walker must be behind a tree at this point.  There was another group watching him warily from the road. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.