Chrelizg21

By Chrelizg21

Another Experiment

I've been thinking about "Patterns" as a topic & tried taking ivy leaves in situ a few days ago, particularly the young ones which have such a lot of red pigment in the winter. Despite using a polarising filter I was still getting too much shine on them, so today, needing an indoor subject this afternoon, I tried a different approach. I'd watched a presentation by Tony Hill on photographing flowers & fungi recently & that had reminded me about the use of a lightpad. I don't have one, but found an app for my tablet which would give all sorts of bright, plain colours & would do for an experiment. First of all I tried a few leaves with a light green background, but the pixel grid from the tablet showed through when enlarged. The next trial was with a white screen but with some slightly coloured craft-type tissue paper on top & that more or less camouflaged the screen grid. The top light was at an angle above & from the front, but that gave a slight shadow. Moving the light more vertically above gave too much reflected light from the leaves themselves - so this one is with the angled light. I could probably reduce the shadows in Lightroom if I was desperate for perfection with this one, but I'm not, it was just a trial. Need to decide whether I want to go down this lightpad road....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.