If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Tough as old boots!

These Fell ponies must be.  It had lashed with rain all day until mid afternoon.   Clickychick and I decided to have a run out to Mungrisedale Common.  Yes I know it is officially Caldbeck Common but it is several miles from Caldbeck and right beside Mungisedale.  Other than that we have always known it as Mungrisedale Common.

When we parked the wind almost blew the car door out of my hand as I was getting out.  The herd of Fell ponies were grazing on the common as if it was a calm dry day.  I have to admit to being a little annoyed with the situation.  There used to be a herd of mixed ponies that lived on this part of the common.  They were forcibly removed and if I remember correctly the owner committed suicide.   Suddenly this herd of pure Fell ponies appeared.  A cynic would say it had something to do with the herd of pure Fell ponies on a nearby farm.   Fortunately, I am not a cynic!

Fell Ponies are thought to have been around the Lakeland fells (or at least their forebears) since the Iron Age.  In recent times they were used transporting ore from the mines and iron etc across to Newcastle.   HM the Queen has Fell Ponies and are I gather occasionally used to carry things down from the moor at Balmoral.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.