Chris_P

By Chris_P

‘Radio Memories’

I read that today is UNESCO supported World Radio Day.

This fact brought back memories for me. 

As I was growing up, my family were serious radio listeners - definitely ‘late adopters’ of television - and, as a schoolboy in the early 60s, I used to listen a lot to our shortwave radio - tuning in to broadcasts from all over the world. 

Later I was given my own and I  became quite addicted to ‘DXing’ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DXing- as the hobby was called - and would collect ‘QSL cards’ in exchange for  sending reports of how good the reception was in Scotland, where I was living. 

Todays blip is a photo of a few of these. 

(The close viewer of the cards - they are best seen ‘large’  - will note that they include WHDH. This is a  local station in Boston, Mass, that I heard during the small hours here one winter’s night on Medium Wave. I think it would be totally impossible to receive such stations nowadays - it was only possible because the majority of European stations shut down at midnight. Nowadays, practically all broadcast 24 hours a day and would totally swamp out such distant ones as a result!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.