New Growth

We are proceeding apace into spring as the plum tree has finished blossoming, some of the oaks are getting leaves, the daffodils are blooming and the grass is still green despite the lack of rain. The African Daisies (arctotis)  which I blipped on Friday curl up rather charmingly as  they contemplate retirement. I put one in extras.

This picture was taken of the hill we circumnavigate on our 'Spike Walk'. He loves it , so of course we do too. His tail wags at a ballistic rate as, nose to the ground, he quarters the large open meadow at the top of the hill. I liked the light through the trees. We definitely live in hill country as this picture demonstrates.

Our neighbors over for coffee this morning, ostensibly to discuss (without the addition of wine) some difficult decisions they don't seem able to resolve. I could only make some general statements as I really didn't want to give them advice and, as often happens, we moved on to many subjects including, aging, water for fire fighting, moving (past and future)  and her impending back surgery. We were able to sit outside in the sun,  moving our chairs around to get into the shade of the big umbrella, the porch would have beed more shaded, but they were cutting and chipping trees across the street and the noise was intolerable.

Today is the Super Bowl, a game between two teams I don't care about which has nevertheless been hyped enough over the last couple of weeks to to make just about anyone sick of the whole subject. Of course that is just me talking but it is sort of telling that the ancillary entertainment is a contest about who has the best commercials. Commercials, I might add, which cost millions of dollars for a thirty second spot. I would say I am showing my age, but I can remember countless fruitless attempts my Berkeley friend and I used to make to find a place to visit that did not have the game in evidence somewhere. And that was many years ago. 

However...I can hear strains of the game emanating from our own TV room so I suppose I should go and check it out....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.