Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Twisted Oak

After a day at the computer yesterday, complete with an afternoon Zoom meeting and with a day of heavy rain forecast, I decided I needed to get out for a walk today. 

It's often difficult to find interesting places to go at this time of year, but I decided to explore the hamlet of Ashton, which has some fine old pollard willows and several large Pedunculate Oak and Ash trees associated with dense hedgerows, all of which have been added to my #Clarestrees spreadsheet. This is the most gnarled of the hedgerow oaks, probably just a sapling in Clare's time.

Although there was some hazy sunshine it was very breezy and I soon wished I'd worn my woolly hat. I was home at lunchtime, invigorated and  theoretically ready to do some more report writing, though that never really happened!

In the evening Pete and I went to dinner at Ben and Sarah's. It was a lovely relaxed occasion. We enjoyed Moroccan style chicken and vegetables with nutty couscous and green salad, followed by a rice pudding made with a mix of coconut and almond milk and gently flavoured with cardamom. Very yummy! I'd taken a small box of chocolates as a special treat, and while I enjoyed the two I had, I didn't want more - which was good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.