Mike’s Photo Journal

By iPhone_User

NO !!

Saturday…and the morning was spent removing an old bathroom mirror with built in lighting which had stopped working with a new one that used ultra-modern LCD lighting.

So, another “out with the old, in with the new” and even though both units were exactly the same size, the wall fittings were totally different and in different places, so no taking advantage of the existing holes in the wall.  It is a good job these things last a reasonable number of years otherwise the wall would resemble a colander with holes being drilled in a number of places in a short space of time.

Now when I do these jobs, I like to take my time, check the measurements at least twice and then the  best placement …nothing worse than a picture or this case a mirror that looks even the slightest bit wonky….sticks out like a sore thumb to me.  And of course regarding the actual placement for the mirror, nothing better than to ask Mrs IU whether the position and height was at the optimal placing, so best to check this not once, nor twice, but immediately prior to drilling the holes, so, yes a third time.

So with that signed off, and looking at the wiring on the unit, I concluded that there was what I considered to be a design flaw – the recess with the back of the mirror and the surrounding frame was so shallow that using the typical wire connectors where you would normally have a block of three to take the three wires, was a no-no, unless you were happy to have a gap between the top of the mirror and wall.  But never to be undeterred, I managed to come up with something that got around the problem and so it was, that by lunchtime, the new mirror was in place and the power was switched back on, and the unit worked at the touch of a small illuminated blue button toward the base. 

Time then to summon Mrs IU to look at the handywork and installation and get the appropriate feedback which was “Yes, it looks okay…maybe not as bright as the old one, but I’m sure it will do……a bit high though…………”   Mmmm so maybe next time, I go from 3 confirmations to 4 confirmations about placement….perhaps get it in writing too and record the answers too.

The afternoon was free to do whatever I wanted so I took myself off to have a wonder around town to see if anything caught my eye for today’s photo….thinking about this week’s Sunday derelict photo.  Now I thought I might give the theme a miss this week as I was sure I would not find anything suitable, but I wandered into a small car park which I had never noticed before, and spotted this…

What attracted me was the patchwork piece in the roof, the worn textured paint on the doors and the letters "NO" which were more prominent than anything else. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.