The Spanish island that communicates by whistle

Today’s Mono Monday challenge set by Jensphotos is Communication and although I can’t demonstrate it by photo, I thought I would mention the special whistling language on La Gomera which is still taught in schools and is called El Silbo. It was traditionally used by the shepherds to communicate with each other over the barrancos or valleys.
My blip today shows the terrain on the island, colour version, third extra, where we did a strenuous 8 mile walk today. This shows the path near the end of the walk, a green path between the houses and fields. It was a great day for the walk, not too much sunshine so ideal temperatures. We saw lots of spring flowers, lots of sightings of kestrels, a much larger bird of prey but the highlight was a chicken hiding in the bushes with her newly hatched black and white chickens. She moved off before I could get a decent shot. We have done this walk several times before and are pleased we are still able to manage it OK. I had a solo swim in the pool when we returned. It’s like a warm bath now, a bit different from when we arrived four weeks ago. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.