Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Our House....

I'll light the fire
While you place the flowers in the vase
That you bought today..

Our house is a very, very, very fine house
With two cats in the yard
Life used to be so hard
Now everything is easy cause of you....
(Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young: Deja Vu, 1969/70)
..........

I had some beautiful deep red roses from Colin today which are decorating the lounge in a vase which I didn't buy today! The song was written by Graham Nash for Joni Mitchell who he was living with at the time. One of my favourite albums of all time.

My parents bought our house from this brochure in 1959 and we moved in, in July 1960. It was one of the most expensive designs on the estate, we have pictures of my sister and I standing beside the string marking out where the house would be. (My youngest sister was a bump at the time, so she was there too I guess, but not much fun! ). At the time we moved in, there were only a few other people living on the estate which became our childhood adventure playground.
We found this brochure amongst Dad's belongings after he died. He lived on in the house after mum died in 1979 until he remarried in 1985 and moved south. I still drive past the house occasionally as it's just over a mile away. The memories of place are still strong, but the house is not the same, it has been extended out of all recognition, I reckon its footprint has doubled.
A quiet day today, some shopping and cooking for tomorrow, when Kathryn is coming to have dinner with mum as we have been invited out for dinner...... Hope I reminder how to behave!

Keep safe folks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.