Malaise

More on the subject of the UK economy, building on yesterday's comments. Here you have the abandoned site just below Shrubhill (All Enquiries Welcome) and scene of one of my favourite ever blips (get those hitched up trousers), along with its advertisements for clubs, gigs and - bizarrely - Irvine Welsh's Trainspotting prequel Skagboys, reflected in a closed Indian restaurant across the Walk on the corner of Albert Street (which was previously a classic #leithwalkpub before the arrival of the smoking ban did for those).

I was going to have a bit of a rant about Irvine Welsh, but the other malaise in my life concerns my lack of energy which is somewhat inexplicable. So, this is your lot and ranting about I Welsh will have to wait for another time. To my eyes, this scene is symptomatic of the mess which has been Leith Walk for about six years, with its #leithwalkshops, resulting from a noxious cocktail of effects relating to tramworks, incompetent City Councils, and the recession.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.